Getting the Best Auto Insurance Florida Offers
When you are looking for the top auto insurance Florida offers you need to find one of the best companies out there for your needs. Everybody has a driving record and this will inevitably determine what type of insurance you need and how much it will cost, to an extent. This means you need to understand some of the regulations about Florida auto insurance.
Getting new insurance for a vehicle can be a bit of a hassle, but sometimes it is necessary. You could have gotten into an accident and you don’t want to pay the high premiums your current company has decided to charge you, or you could just want to see if there is a better option out there. Here are five of the regulations to understand about the auto insurance Florida has to offer.
The 5 Regulations for Auto Insurance in Florida
1. Florida-only Insurance
What this means is you have to get an insurance policy from a company licensed by the Florida Department of Financial Services. This policy must be obtained by a company or an agent that is licensed to provide insurance in Florida. It is not legal to maintain a policy for your vehicle that was issues in a different state.
2. The 90 Day Rule
Even if you don’t have plans to stay in Florida or you don’t live there all year round you may have to look into the auto insurance Florida offers. If you plan to be in the state for 90 days or longer in a one year period, then you have to be covered by Florida auto insurance. These days don’t have to be consecutive and you don’t even have to use the vehicle for this regulation to apply to you.
3. Minimum PIP Coverage
In the state of Florida you are required to carry Personal Injury Protection coverage in the amount of $10,000 or more. This is a no-fault policy and it will cover you whether you caused the accident or not. Usually this protection will even cover those in the vehicle that don’t have their own PIP coverage.
4. Minimum PDL Liability Coverage
The auto insurance in Florida offers also has a minimum amount of coverage for Property Damage Liability. This coverage is also $10,000 or more and it will cover any damages you cause to another person’s vehicle or property during an accident. It does not protect your vehicle, but it is still a requirement of the Florida state law.
5. The Penalties
If you don’t carry insurance that fits the laws of Florida you could be subject to a driving license suspension and fines. It can be very expensive to reinstate your license and you can pay as much as $150 just to get the process started. After it is all said and done you will most likely pay over $500 to get back on the road plus the cost of new insurance.
Where to Find the Auto Insurance Florida Offers?
You can simply do a search online and get a few quotes for insurance in Florida. Many nationwide companies can provide you with the proper coverage if you live in Florida. Another choice is to find a local agent or insurance company and actually speak with them in person. This can be a great way to get a local quote to compare to the online quotes.
Whether you live in Florida full time or you are just there part of the year you need to make sure your vehicle is covered by the proper insurance. The minimum coverage will allow you to drive without the worry of your license being suspended, but you should consider getting more coverage than just the minimum auto insurance Florida requires.